On Becoming a Writer

View previous topic View next topic Go down

On Becoming a Writer

Post by BC Williams on Wed 01 Jun 2011, 6:27 pm

A Writer's Journey into Self-Expression with Words

It was 2002 and I'd just lost a couple of very important folks in my life. My inner dialog was not great, thoughts of suicide plagued me 24/7, invading my dreams and ruining my days. I realized, I've got to get these thoughts out of my head! In my searching, I stumbled upon the now defunct online writer's workshop called, A Novel Approach. In that wonderfully creative environment I became a member of two groups, poetry and short story writing. Each genre allowed its students one month to complete a specific prompt. We worked together, peer to peer, submitting one, two, sometime 3 drafts - then the final, finished story and poem. I realized early how invaluable peer interaction can be. As a novice, I learned much from the experienced mentors.

Of course my loss played itself out in my earliest writings as in these poems,      
A Fragment of Healing and I Will Not Forget My peers were supportive as I limped away from my morbid state, blossoming into a writer with a focused voice. A Brief Recalling

Writing mentors don't only teach you the logistics of good writing, they show you yourself as if looking into a big mirror. I found becoming a good writer is more than knowing the rules. It's finding that niche inside yourself that has a story to tell, and because you've honed the skills, you can tell it well.